Headlight Restoration

My head light were really foggy and looked really bad on my Mazda Rx8. I invested $20 and about 20 mins of my time to make them look like new.

This is a photo of how my headlights looked when I started, I taped up the edges to protect my paint from both the drill and the solution.
Click image for larger version  Name:	Before Headlight.jpg Views:	115 Size:	251.4 KB ID:	164780

I followed the instructions and added a nickel size amount of the solution to the pad which is connected to my drill.
Click image for larger version  Name:	Drill with pad.jpg Views:	51 Size:	258.1 KB ID:	164781

Then spent about 2-3 mins applying an even coat to the entire headlight with the drill starting slowly and building up the speed. Once all the solution was completely rubbed in I repeated the whole process for the other headlight.
Click image for larger version  Name:	Polishing headlight.jpg Views:	41 Size:	249.5 KB ID:	164782

I then repeated the process for the both headlights, (Not required but I didn’t take long so I want to make sure i had done a good job). Once complete a quick rub with the lint free cloth.
Click image for larger version  Name:	Wipe off dust fiber.jpg Views:	25 Size:	250.5 KB ID:	164783

The finished product looks amazing
Click image for larger version  Name:	Good as new.jpg Views:	112 Size:	251.2 KB ID:	164784
Here is a picture of the equipment used
Click image for larger version  Name:	Equipment used.jpg Views:	48 Size:	253.7 KB ID:	164786

This is the other headlight
Click image for larger version  Name:	Passenger light looking good.jpg Views:	42 Size:	250.8 KB ID:	164785

You can buy this product on Amazon

Meguiars Professional Headlight Restoration Kit – Comes with Extra 10 Ounce Bottle of Plastx Plastic Cleaner and Polish

Here are a couple of other similar article you can read or visit E46 Tuning

Sylvania Headlight Restoration Kit on a 2002 Toyota Sequoia – I took advantage of a nice Saturday afternoon and opted to restore my dull headlights on a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. This car sits outside in the Arizona.Rain-X Headlight Restoration Kit | New Cars, Car Reviews & Prices – Rain-X Headlight Restoration Kit. Rain-X kit contains the lubricant and 3 grain-levels of sandpaper, polish with headlight restorer cream and sealant towelettes to finish the jobRe… Rain-X pack contains the liniment as well as 3 …

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

